top of page
Compass

Signposting

Below are some useful websites and phone numbers I have collected throughout my career that may help you.

Many of the organisations cover multiple categories, I have tried to put them under a section that sounded most appropriate.

If you know of any good organisations / charities please let me know and I'll add them :)

In an Emergency

 

Counselling is not an emergency service. If you feel suicidal, please contact your GP, A&E, Emergency services on 999 or Samaritans on 116 123

If someone’s life is at risk, call 999 or go to A&E.

NHS urgent help on mental healthnhs.uk/nhs-services/mental-health-services/where-to-get-urgent-help-for-mental-health/ or call 111

NHS general advice on mental health111.nhs.uk/ or call 111

 

The Samaritans (24 hour telephone support): on 116 123 

River and Coconut Trees

​Addiction / Substance abuse

We are with you: wearewithyou.org.uk/
Get connected (dual diagnosis): getconnected.org.uk/
Change, Grow, Live: 01625464995 / changegrowlive.org/advice-info/alcohol-drugs 
Rehab 4 addiction: rehab4addiction.co.uk/
Al-Anon (families): 02074030888 / al-anonuk.org.uk
Alcoholics Anonymous: 08457697555 / alcoholics-anonymous.org.uk
Drink line: 08009178282
Drink Aware: drinkaware.co.uk
FRANK: talktofrank.com/

ADHD

ADHD Foundation: www.adhdfoundation.org.uk/
ADHD UK: adhduk.co.uk/

Adoption Queries

Adoption UK: 03006660006
Action for Children: 01923361500
Adoption Counts: adoptioncounts.org.uk/


Anxiety

Anxiety UK: anxietyuk.org.uk


Asylum seekers

Asylum seekers advice line: 08009172719
Children panel: 02073461134
Greater Manchester Immigration Aid Unit: 01617407722
Refugee Action: 01618315420 / refugee-action.org.uk

 

Autism

Space4Autism: 01625617884 / space4autism.com/
Ambitious About Autism: ambitiousaboutautism.org.uk/
National Autistic Society: autism.org.uk/
Cheshire East Autism team: 01270685960livewellservices.cheshireeast.gov.uk/Services/1086/CEAT-Cheshire-East


Bereavement

Macclesfield Bereavement Support Service: 01625439333 / bereavementmacclesfield.com/
East Cheshire Hospice: 01625610364 / eastcheshirehospice.org.uk
Winston’s Wish: winstonswish.org/
Daisy’s Dream: daisysdream.org.uk/
Cruse: cruse.org.uk/


Bullying

Kidscape: 08451205204 / kidscape.org.uk/
National bullying helpline: nationalbullyinghelpline.co.uk/


Carers

Carers UK: carersuk.org/
Carers trust: carers.org/
Young carers (Cheshire): cheshireyoungcarers.org/


Domestic Abuse

Salford University DV Service (national free counselling): hub.salford.ac.uk/domestic-violence-counselling-service/
Domestic Abuse Helpline (24 hour support): victimsupport.org.uk/
For England: nationaldahelpline.org.uk/
For Northern Ireland: dsahelpline.org/
For Scotland: sdafmh.org.uk/
For Wales: gov.wales/live-fear-free
Cheshire without abuse: 03001235101 / mycwa.org.uk
ManKind: mankind.org.uk/
Men’s Advice Line: mensadviceline.org.uk/
Refuge: refuge.org.uk/
Women’s Aid: womensaid.org.uk/


Eating disorders

Beat: beateatingdisorders.org.uk/


Housing / Finance

Citizens Advice Bureau: 01625708608 / citizensadvice.org.uk/
Cheshire Homechoice: 03001235017
Claim Universal Credit: gov.uk/universal-credit/how-to-claim
Claim PIP: gov.uk/pip/how-to-claim
C.E.Emergency (furniture): 03001235010cheshireeast.gov.uk/benefits_housing_council_tax/emergency-assistance.aspx


Learning Disabilities

Manchester people first (self advocacy group for adults): manpf.org/
EASS (equality and human rights): equalityadvisoryservice.com/
Council for disabled children: councilfordisabledchildren.org.uk/


LGBT

Lesbian and gay foundation: lgbt.foundation/
F.F.L.A.G (families): 08456520311 / fflag.org.uk/


Mental Health

Mind: mind.org.uk
MindEd: minded.org.uk
Rethink mental illness: rethink.org/
SANE: sane.org.uk/
Mood Swings Network: moodswings.org.uk/
Cheshire East Crisis line (24 hour all age urgent mental health crisis line): 08001456485healthwatchcheshireeast.org.uk/coronavirus/cwp-updates/cwp-mental-health-crisis-line/


OCD

OCD UK: ocduk.org/
No Panic: nopanic.org.uk/
OCD Action: ocdaction.org.uk/


Online safety

NSPCC Online Safety Hub: nspcc.org.uk/keeping-children-safe/online-safety/
Safer Internet: saferinternet.org.uk/advice-centre/parents-and-carers
UK Safer Internet Centresaferinternet.org.uk/parents
Childnet: childnet.com
Internet Watch Foundation: iwf.org.uk
Child Exploitation and Online Protection (CEOP):  ceop.police.uk
CEOP's Think U Know website: thinkuknow.co.uk
True Vision (online hate crime): report-it.org.uk


Parent and Family Support

Just Drop-In: justdropin.co.uk/
YoungMinds Parent Helpline: 08088025544 / youngminds.org.uk
Family Lives: 08088002222
Cheshire YP Mental Health Hub advice line: 01606555120
MindEd for families: mindedforfamilies.org.uk/young-people
Relate: relate.org.uk/
Action for children: actionforchildren.org.uk/
Dad: dad.info/
Home start: home-start.org.uk/
Families need fathers: fnf.org.uk/
Ginger bread: gingerbread.org.uk/
Only Dads: onlydads.org/


Rape and Sexual Abuse

SARC: https://mft.nhs.uk/saint-marys/services/sexual-assault-referral-centre-sarc/

RASASC: 01260697900 / rapecentre.org.uk/


Self harm

LifeSIGNS: lifesigns.org.uk/
National Self-Harm Network (forum): nshn.co.uk/
Battlescars: battle-scars-self-harm.org.uk/
Calm Halm App: calmharm.co.uk
Recover Your Life (support group): recoveryourlife.com


Sexual health

Fresh 4 Manchester: fresh4manchester.nhs.uk/
Brook: brook.org.uk/


Suicide

Counselling is not an emergency service. If you feel suicidal, please contact your GP, A&E, Emergency services on 999 or Samaritans on 116 123

Mental health foundation: mentalhealth.org.uk/our-work/public-engagement/suicide-prevention
Papyrus: 08000684141 / papyrus-uk.org/ 
Samaritans 24/7: call 01625116123 or text 07725909090
SHOUT (free, confidential, text support): text SHOUT to 85258


Young people

NSPCC: 08088005000 / nspcc.org.uk/
Childline08001111 / childline.org.uk
Just Drop In
 (East Cheshire children's charity): justdropin.co.uk/

Kooth (Cheshire based): https://www.livewell.cheshirewestandchester.gov.uk/Information/Kooth
National youth advocacy service: 08088081001 / nyas.net

The counselling & family centre (Altrincham based): https://www.thecfc.org.uk/children-young-people

Visyon (West Cheshire): https://www.visyon.org.uk/support-for-young-people

Platform for life (Chester based): https://www.platformforlife.org.uk/

The Mix: 08088084994 / themix.org.uk
Early Break: 08703892080 / earlybreak.co.uk
Young Minds: youngminds.org.uk/
Young Minds Parentline: 08088025544
Young Minds (info about medications): youngminds.org.uk/young-person/medications
Anna Freud National Centre: annafreud.org
Student Minds (student mental health charity): studentminds.org.uk/
Students Against Depression (by students, for students): studentsagainstdepression.org/
42nd Street: 01612281888 / 42ndstreet.org.uk

Updated: 12/01/24

Green Hills
bottom of page